ReachHigher mit Dr. med. Frank Starp

March 22, 2022
18:00 - 19:30
UMCH
Event Series
Lecture
ReachHigher
ReachHigher mit Dr. med. Frank Starp

Lecture: “Know your enemy – You can find it in your data” (Lecture Language: English)

In the daily operation of a hospital, a lot of data is generated. Dr. med. Frank Starp from the UMFST-UMCH Teaching Hospital Delme Klinikum Delmenhorst makes use of exactly that. The Medical Director and Chief Physician of the Clinic for General and Visceral Surgery is a big proponent of data-based quality assurance. After all, by collecting and comparing certain treatment data during the course of patient treatment, reliable statements can be made about whether or not there is room for improvement in the respective procedure. It also enables reliable early detection of any errors and makes difficult operations more safe overall.

In addition to improving the quality of treatment, the statistical evaluation of performance data brings with it a research aspect through which the general public can also benefit from this method. In his presentation titled “Know your enemy – You can find it in your data”, Dr. Starp will explain his personal approach in this area and discuss the many benefits that arise from it.

 

ReachHigher

Entertaining, innovative and condensed: At ReachHigher, experts from a network of extraordinary personalities give lectures on the topics of medicine and research as well as leadership/motivation.

UMCH’s ReachHigher lecture series pushes and strengthens the know-how of our students as well as their personal development – beyond their daily schedule. We look forward to accompanying you on your individual way to self-realization!

Learn more about it!

ReachHigher mit Dr. med. Frank Starp

22. März 2022
18:00 - 19:30
UMCH
ReachHigher
Veranstaltungsreihe
Vortrag
ReachHigher mit Dr. med. Frank Starp

Vortrag: „Know your enemy – You can find it in your data“ (Vortragssprache: Englisch)

Im täglichen Betrieb eines Krankenhauses fallen viele Daten an. Dr. med. Frank Starp vom UMFST-UMCH-Lehrkrankenhaus Delme Klinikum Delmenhorst macht sich genau das zunutze. Der Ärztliche Direktor und Chefarzt der Klinik für Allgemein- und Viszeralchirurgie ist ein großer Verfechter der datenbasierten Qualitätssicherung. Schließlich lassen sich durch die Erhebung und den Abgleich bestimmter Behandlungsdaten im Verlauf der Behandlung von Patientinnen und Patienten verlässliche Aussagen darüber treffen, ob es im jeweiligen Verfahren Verbesserungsbedarf gibt oder nicht. Zudem wird dadurch eine zuverlässigere Früherkennung von etwaigen Fehlern ermöglicht und schwierige Operationen werden insgesamt sicherer.

Zusätzlich zur Verbesserung der Behandlungsqualität bringt die statistische Auswertung von Leistungsdaten einen Forschungsaspekt mit sich, durch den auch die Allgemeinheit von dieser Methode profitiert. In seinem Vortrag mit dem Titel „Know your enemy – You can find it in your data“ wird Dr. Starp seinen persönlichen Ansatz in diesem Bereich erläutern und auf die vielen Vorteile eingehen, die sich daraus ergeben.

 

ReachHigher

Unterhaltsam, innovativ und komprimiert: Bei ReachHigher halten Experten aus einem Netzwerk außergewöhnlicher Persönlichkeiten Vorträge zu den Themenbereichen Medizin und Forschung sowie Leadership/Motivation.

Die ReachHigher-Vortragsreihe des UMCH pusht und stärkt das Know-how unserer Studierenden ebenso wie ihre persönliche Weiterentwicklung – fernab ihres täglichen Stundenplans. Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie bei Ihrem individuellen Weg zur Selbstverwirklichung zu begleiten!

Erfahren Sie mehr!