Students Log in
Online Application
  • German
  • English

ReachHigher – Dr. Sixtus Allert gives lecture on “Interactions between the health care system and the health care industry”

November 18, 2020

On November 16, 2020, the latest edition of our UMCH lecture series ReachHigher took place – this time with plastic surgeon Dr. Sixtus Allert. His lecture dealt with the complex interactions between our local health care system and the numerous interest groups that influence it.

A simple and precise answer to the somewhat provocatively asked question from the title of the event – “Does the health industry ruin health? – the UMCH students certainly did not receive. Instead the chief physician of the Clinic for Plastic, Aesthetic and Hand Surgery of the Sana Klinikum Hameln-Pyrmont, whose medical director he has also been since 2009, discussed his view of past and current developments and the status quo of the German healthcare system. He provided the participating students with a picture of how many interested parties have an influence on the supposedly simple relationship between medical professionals and the patients to be cared for. There is a highly complex network of interest groups such as medical associations, political parties, hospital operators, health ministries and the pharmaceutical industry – to name just a fraction. After all, the healthcare industry is a business worth around 400 billion euros. According to Dr. Allert, it poses a serious threat to the healthcare system as it currently exists in Germany. At the same time, however, the health care industry also affects the healthcare system – and vice versa.

Despite the critical and sometimes even self-critical tenor that Dr. Allert suggested in his presentation, he did not convey an overly negative picture of the future of our healthcare system, which, however, would have to change significantly in order to remain sustainable and competitive. This was also evident in the discussion that followed, in which the UMCH students asked thoughtful questions that were answered by the ReachHigher speaker in a differentiated and competent manner.

Students Log in
Online-Bewerbung
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

ReachHigher – Dr. Sixtus Allert hält Vortrag zum Thema „Wechselwirkungen zwischen Gesundheitssystem und Gesundheitswirtschaft“

18. November 2020

Am 16.11.2020 fand die neueste Ausgabe unserer UMCH-Vortragsreihe ReachHigher statt – diesmal mit dem Plastischen Chirurgen Dr. Sixtus Allert. In seinem Vortrag ging es um die komplexen Wechselwirkungen zwischen unserem hiesigen Gesundheitssystem und den zahlreichen Interessengruppen, die darauf Einfluss haben.

Eine einfache und präzise Antwort auf die etwas provokant gestellte Frage aus dem Titel der Veranstaltung – „Macht Gesundheitswirtschaft Gesundheit kaputt?“ – bekamen die Studierenden des UMCH gewiss nicht zu hören. Stattdessen erläuterte der Chefarzt der Klinik für Plastische, Ästhetische und Handchirurgie des Sana Klinikums Hameln-Pyrmont, dessen Ärztlicher Direktor er zudem seit 2009 ist, seine Sichtweise auf vergangene und aktuelle Entwicklungen sowie den Status quo des deutschen Gesundheitssystems. Er vermittelte den teilnehmenden Studierenden ein Bild davon, wie viele Interessensvertreter Einfluss auf das vermeintlich einfache Verhältnis zwischen ärztlichem Fachpersonal und den zu versorgenden Patientinnen und Patienten haben. Hier besteht ein hochkomplexes Geflecht aus Interessengruppen wie Ärztekammern, politischen Parteien, Krankenhausträgern, Gesundheitsministerien und der Pharmaindustrie – um nur einen Bruchteil zu nennen. Schließlich ist die Gesundheitswirtschaft ein circa 400 Milliarden schweres Geschäft. Laut Dr. Allert bedroht diese das Gesundheitssystem, wie es aktuell hierzulande besteht, stark. Gleichzeitig bedingt die Gesundheitswirtschaft das Gesundheitssystem jedoch auch – wie auch umgekehrt.

Trotz des kritischen und teilweise gar selbstkritischen Tenors, den Dr. Allert in seinem Vortrag anschlug, vermittelte er kein allzu negatives Bild von der Zukunft unseres Gesundheitssystems, das sich jedoch stark verändern müsse, um weiterhin Bestand zu haben und wettbewerbsfähig zu sein. Dies zeigte sich auch in der anschließenden Diskussion, in der die Studierenden des UMCH durchdachte Fragen stellten, die von dem ReachHigher-Redner differenziert und fachkundig beantwortet wurden.