UNIVERSITY CITY HAMBURG

In love with the Hanseatic city

High quality of life

The Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg lies in Northern Germany and is both a city-state and a federal state. With over 1.8 million inhabitants, it is the second largest city in Germany after Berlin. Hamburg is known as a media and start-up centre, has a vibrant cultural scene and is one of the cities with the highest quality of life in the world. The Alster and the Elbe offer numerous recreational opportunities; the North Sea is just as easy to reach as the towns of Lübeck and Lüneburg. The fact that it rains more in Hamburg than in other German cities is an eternal myth. On average, with just 130 rainy days a year, we have 40 less rainy days than Munich’s citizens. As the second largest city in Germany, Hamburg offers optimal connections to all major German and European cities. Due to its size and internationality, Hamburg is very easy to reach from anywhere in the world no matter the alternative you choose: bus, train, car or plane.

Germany’s gateway to the world

“Germany’s gateway to the World” – the Harbour of Hamburg – is one of the world’s largest transhipment harbours, the third largest harbour in Europe, which makes the city one of the most important logistics locations in Europe. Hamburg’s location on the waterfront and the numerous canals that make their way through the city are just as much part of Hamburg’s cityscape as its typical brick facades. The Speicherstadt (historical warehouse district) and the Kontorhausviertel (Kontorhaus quarter) are listed as UNESCO World Heritage Sites and the Elbphilharmonie (Elbe Philharmonic Concert Hall) became in 2017 one of the city’s landmarks as well.

Hamburg as a university city

Hamburg is undisputedly a great city and a highly attractive place to study.  With both private and state universities, Hamburg is one of the most important university cities and one of the most important research locations in Germany. As a result, students benefit from a lot of activities and the city has a vibrant and lively nightlife. As an educational and research location, Hamburg is the centre of several prestigious educational institutions, institutes and research centres – its economic and scientific significance makes the city a top location for medical studies.

Cultural diversity

Hamburg is the third largest location for musicals in the world, after New York and London.  “The Lion King” and “The Phantom of the Opera” are two classics that run continuously at the theatre in Hamburg. Because of the festivals, musicals, concerts and theatre performances as well as the internationally known St. Pauli quarter, there is always something to experience in Hamburg. There are no limits to leisure activities in Hamburg: the impressive Elbe Philharmonic Hall, the traditional Altona Fish Market, the Hamburg DOM as the largest folk festival in the north, the Cruise Days, the Miniature Wonderland, around 60 theatres and more than 60 museums and internationally famous galleries, the International German Tennis Championships on Hamburg’s Rothenbaum, the annual marathon, the Cyclassics and the Celebration of Harbour’s Foundation  are just a small selection of the wide range of sports, cultural and leisure alternatives that the city offers.

STUDENTENSTADT HAMBURG

Verliebt in die Hafenstadt

Hohe Lebensqualität

Die Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg liegt im Norden Deutschlands und ist zugleich Stadtstaat und Bundesland. Mit über 1,8 Millionen Einwohnern ist sie nach Berlin die zweitgrößte Stadt Deutschlands. Hamburg ist bekannt als Medien- und Start-up-Zentrum, hat eine pulsierende Kulturszene und gilt als eine der Städte mit der höchsten Lebensqualität der Welt. Die Alster sowie die Elbe bieten zahlreiche Erholungsmöglichkeiten; die Nordsee ist ebenso schnell zu erreichen wie die sehenswerten Städte Lübeck und Lüneburg. Dass es in Hamburg mehr regnet als in anderen deutschen Städten, ist ein ewiger Mythos. Im Durchschnitt hat die Stadt mit gerade einmal 130 Regentagen 40 weniger als München. Als zweitgrößte Stadt Deutschlands bietet Hamburg eine optimale Anbindung an alle großen deutschen und europäischen Städte. Ob mit Bus, Bahn, Auto oder Flugzeug – Hamburg ist durch seine Größe und internationale Ausrichtung von überall aus gut zu erreichen.

Deutschlands Tor zur Welt

„Deutschlands Tor zur Welt“ – der Hamburger Hafen – ist einer der weltweit größten Umschlaghäfen, der drittgrößte Hafen Europas und macht die Stadt zu einem der wichtigsten Logistikstandorte in Europa. Die typischen Klinkerfassaden gestalten Hamburgs variantenreiches Stadtbild ebenso wie die futuristische HafenCity und die Altstadt. Zahlreiche Fleete und Kanäle sowie insgesamt mehr Brücken als in Amsterdam und Venedig zusammen verleihen der Stadt ihr einzigartiges Flair. Hamburg ist geprägt von einer beeindruckenden Historie, was sich insbesondere in der facettenreichen Architektur widerspiegelt. Die historische Speicherstadt und das Kontorhausviertel sind bereits als UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gelistet und seit 2017 gilt auch die Elbphilharmonie als Wahrzeichen der Stadt.

Universitätsstadt

Hamburg ist unbestritten eine tolle Stadt und ein höchst attraktiver Studienort. Mit sowohl privaten als auch öffentlichen Hochschulen ist Hamburg eine der zentralen Universitätsstädte und einer der bedeutendsten Forschungsstandorte Deutschlands. Dadurch gibt es in der Stadt ein vielfältiges Studenten- und Nachtleben. Als Bildungs- und Forschungsstandort ist Hamburg Zentrum mehrerer renommierter Bildungseinrichtungen, Institute und Forschungszentren – ihre
wirtschaftliche und wissenschaftliche Bedeutung macht die Stadt zum Top-Standort für die medizinische Ausbildung.

Kulturelle Vielfalt

Nach New York und London ist Hamburg der weltweit drittgrößte Musicalstandort – viele Jahre war die Stadt Spielstätte von „Der König der Löwen“ und „Das Phantom der Oper“. Mit Musikfestivals, Musical-, Konzert- und Theateraufführungen sowie dem international bekannten St. Pauli-Viertel gibt es in Hamburg immer etwas zu erleben. Der Freizeitgestaltung sind keine Grenzen gesetzt: Der traditionelle Altonaer Fischmarkt, der Hamburger DOM als größtes Volksfest im Norden, die Cruise Days, das Miniatur Wunderland, etwa 60 Theater und mehr als 60 Museen sowie international bekannte Galerien, die Internationalen Deutschen Meisterschaften im Tennis am Hamburger Rothenbaum, der jährliche stattfindende Marathon, die Cyclassics und der Hafengeburtstag sind nur eine kleine Auswahl des breiten Angebots an Sport-, Kultur- und Freizeitalternativen.