FAQ

Everything you need to know about studying at UMCH

You have questions about studying medicine at UMCH?

We have compiled the answers to the most frequently asked questions for you.

1. University

What makes UMCH unique?

The campus is a branch of the Romanian University of Medicine, Pharmacy, Science and Technology of Targu Mures (UMFST), offering a study program in human medicine in English. The advantages of studying medicine in English for your professional future are obvious. By practicing your language skills during your studies, you will deepen them and set the course for a successful career at an early stage – not only in an international context. The English language predominates in science and research and serves international communication. At the same time, you broaden your linguistic and cultural horizon by studying in an international environment. Connect with other students who also like to look beyond their own horizons while you are studying. The theoretical lectures take place in a campus building in Hamburg-Bahrenfeld with modern equipment and administration. In small groups, you will be closely supported until graduation by motivated teaching staff. Teaching bedside from the 3rd academic year onwards takes place in the UMCH teaching hospitals.

Is it possible to get an insight into the campus in Hamburg?

Visit one of our information days and find out more about studying human medicine at the UMCH and the University of Medicine, Pharmacy, Sciences and Technology of Targu Mures itself. You can find the dates here. We also offer open days for visiting the campus – our next “Open Campus Day” will take place on November 23rd from 11.00 a.m. onwards. Please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to seeing you!

Are UMCH students enrolled at a German university?

No. As a student at the campus, you are enrolled at the University of Medicine, Pharmacy, Sciences and Technology of Targu Mures. The university is one of the leading state medical faculties in Romania. The campus is a branch of the UMFST of Targu Mures.

2. Study program

In which languages do the lectures take place and what language level is required?

At UMCH, classes are taught in English. Only the bedside teaching (the practical clinical part in years 3–6) at the German partner hospitals or clinics is in German.

The bedside teaching in Targu Mures (the practical clinical part in years 3 –6) takes place in English. An English certificate is not mandatory for the application, but your knowledge of English will be tested during the selection interview. Medical studies in English are generally easy for German high school graduates to master. Furthermore, during the first year, the course medical terminology that introduces students to medical terminology is taught in English.

In addition, a Romanian language course is taking place for 90 minutes per week during the first two years of study. No previous knowledge of the Romanian language is required. This language course must be offered due to the accreditation requirements – as it is the case at many other comparable international medical faculties. According to our experience, it does not constitute a hindrance for successful progress in your studies but should rather be seen as a broadening of your language horizons. For the two-week lessons in Targu Mures during the first three years of study, the acquired language skills are by no means necessary as they are taught in English. However, you will benefit from these for your private free-time activities in Targu Mures.

In order to participate in clinical education in Germany (years 3–6), international students must have a language level of approximately B2 in the German language by the beginning of the third academic year.

You can find more information about the study structure here.

Which subjects are taught on the main campus of the university in Targu Mures (Romania)?

The first three years of study include three modules of two weeks each, which will be completed in Targu Mures. These modules are the following:

Year 1: Anatomy 1 and 2 (Laboratory of the Anatomy Department)
Year 2: Anatomy 3 (Laboratory of the Anatomy Department) and Introduction in the Medical Work (Simulation Center)
Year 3: Bacteriology/Virology/Parasitology (Laboratory of the Microbiology Department) and Morphopathology (Laboratory of the Pathology Department)

As a student, is it possible to choose the hospital in which the teaching at the bedside is carried out from the third year of study?

The university cooperates with a large number of partner hospitals and clinics throughout Germany for teaching bedside from the third academic year onwards. Of course, the personal preferences of the respective student are taken into account in the concrete assignment to a partner hospital or clinic. A mandatory survey in this regard will take place at the beginning of the second academic year. If there are more students applying for a certain partner hospital or clinic than there are places available, places will be awarded strictly according to their performance (ranking according to the average grade of the second year of study, in the case of a tie, by lot).

Is it possible to transfer to the UMCH and from the UMCH to another university?

Yes, a tranfer to UMCH in the 2nd academic year is possible for 2020/2021. The prerequisite for this is that you have previously studied at a university based in the EU. We will be happy to inform you in advance about the possible crediting of your previous studies and the ECTS points you have earned. Please contact the UMCH team to find out what information we need for this.

It is also possible to transfer from UMCH to another university in Europe. A total of 360 ECTS points will be earned during the six-year course. Each academic year contains 60 ECTS points. The European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) used at UMCH ensures EU-wide and Bologna-compliant comparability of the curriculum.

3. Accreditation and recognition

Is the study program accredited and recognized by the state?

The UMFST of Targu Mures and all its study programs are accredited by the Romanian Agency for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ARACIS). Moreover, the university is marked with the highest status H+ by the information portal for the assessment of foreign educational qualifications (anabin) published by the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the States in the Federal Republic of Germany. Therefore, it is regarded as a higher education institution in Germany. The branch office in Hamburg is also indicated in accordance with § 117a of Hamburgisches Hochschulgesetz. It is a full member of the European Association for Quality Assurance in Higher Education (ENQA). In 2013 and 2017 the university was evaluated by the Institutional Evaluation Programme (IEP) (conducted by the European University Association (EUA)). In addition, the Quality Management Standard (ISO 9001: 2015) was introduced and certified by TÜV AUSTRIA CERT GMBH.

The medical license of the EU country Romania is automatically approved throughout the EU, including Germany, on the basis of the directive on the recognition of professional qualifications. The degree opens the way for UMCH graduates to practice as physicians throughout the EU and additional countries. Moreover, the UMFST of Targu Mures is listed in the World Dictionary of Medical Schools. This enables students to take the American state examination (USMLE – United States Medical Licensing Examination).

4. University town of Hamburg

Where can I live as a UMCH student in Hamburg?

In cooperation with Uninest Student Residences, UMCH offers the option of living in fully furnished student apartments in the district of Wandsbek during your studies in Hamburg with favorable conditions. The apartments are located in the modern “Navale” residence complex comprising a total of 328 studios. UMCH students can choose between four different room types. The Wandsbeker Chaussee train and underground station, which is located directly next to the building complex, also provides optimal connections to the local public transportation network.

Your advantages:

  • Fully equipped studios with private bathroom and kitchen (including bed with storage space and mattress, wardrobe, table with chairs, shelf; kitchenette with two hobs, microwave, and freezer/cooler combination).
  • Service charges included (electricity, gas, water, high-speed LAN connection and WiFi)
  • Common rooms with learning areas, lounge, bar and soccer tables
  • Service team, package acceptance, and custodial service

Are you interested in a place in the student accommodation “Navale”? Please do not hesitate to contact our student advisory team personally or the Uninest Student Residences staff directly.

Uninest Hamburg-Wandsbek
Navale
Hammer Straße 10
22041 Hamburg
Germany
E-Mail: [email protected]
Tel.: +49 (0)69 – 95 90 86 22 2

Short Facts

Studying human medicine at the UMCH:

Type of study

Full-time study

Start of study

Each year for winter semester

Teaching language

English/Bedside-teaching
in German hospitals: German

Duration of study

6 years

ECTS points

360

Recognition

The medical license of the EU country Romania is automatically approved throughout the EU, including Germany, on the basis of the directive on the recognition of professional qualifications.

Admission Process

Written application, HMS admission test: written and oral part

Admission Restriction

No admission restrictions based on school grades

Further information about the study programme and application

Further questions?

Would you like to know more about studying at UMCH? Our study advisors will be happy to help you.

Mr.Ms.

Please read our privacy policy.

Contact us!

Address

University Targu Mures
Medical Campus Hamburg

 

Albert-Einstein-Ring 11-15

22761 Hamburg, Germany

Opening times

Mo. – Fr.: 9 am – 6 pm

FAQ

Alles Wissenswerte zum Studium am UMCH

Sie haben Fragen zum Medizinstudium am UMCH?

Die Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen haben wir hier für Sie zusammengestellt.

1. Universität

Was zeichnet den UMCH aus?

Der UMCH ist eine Niederlassung der staatlichen UMFST Neumarkt a. M., die in Hamburg den Studiengang Humanmedizin NC-frei und in englischer Sprache anbietet. Die Vorteile eines englischsprachigen Medizinstudiums für die berufliche Zukunft liegen auf der Hand. Durch die Anwendung Ihrer Englischkenntnisse im Studium vertiefen Sie diese und stellen frühzeitig die Weichen für eine erfolgreiche Karriere, nicht nur im internationalen Kontext. Die englische Sprache dominiert in Wissenschaft und Forschung und dient der internationalen Verständigung. Gleichzeitig erweitern Sie Ihren sprachlich-kulturellen Horizont, indem Sie in einem internationalen Umfeld studieren. Knüpfen Sie bereits im Studium Kontakt zu anderen Studierenden, die ebenfalls gerne einen Blick über den eigenen Tellerrand werfen. Die theoretischen Lehrveranstaltungen finden zudem auf einem modern ausgestatteten und verwalteten Campusgebäude in Hamburg-Bahrenfeld statt. In kleinen Gruppen werden Sie intensiv bis zum erfolgreichen Abschluss von motivierten Lehrkräften begleitet. Die Lehre am Krankenbett ab dem 3. Studienjahr erfolgt in den UMCH-Lehrkrankenhäusern.

Gibt es die Möglichkeit, einen Einblick in den Campus in Hamburg zu bekommen?

Besuchen Sie einen unserer Infotage und erfahren Sie mehr über den Studiengang Humanmedizin am UMCH sowie die Universität für Medizin, Pharmazie, Naturwissenschaften und Technik Neumarkt a. M. selbst. Unsere Termine finden Sie hier. Zur Campusbesichtigung bieten wir Tage der offenen Tür an – unser nächster „Open Campus Day“ findet am 23. November 2019 ab 11.00 Uhr statt. Kontaktieren Sie uns hierzu gerne. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Ist man als Student am UMCH an einer deutschen Universität immatrikuliert?

Nein. Als Student am UMCH ist man an der Universität für Medizin, Pharmazie, Naturwissenschaften und Technik Neumarkt a. M. eingeschrieben. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine der führenden medizinischen staatlichen Fakultäten Rumäniens. Der UMCH ist eine Niederlassung der UMFST Neumarkt a. M.

2. Studium

In welchen Sprachen findet der Unterricht statt und welches Sprachniveau ist jeweils erforderlich?

Am UMCH findet der Unterricht auf Englisch statt. Lediglich der Unterricht am Krankenbett (der praktisch-klinische Anteil in den Jahren 3 bis 6) an den deutschen Partnerkrankenhäusern bzw. -kliniken ist auf Deutsch.

Der Unterricht am Krankenbett in Neumarkt a. M. (der praktisch-klinische Anteil in den Jahren 3 bis 6) findet auf Englisch statt. Ein Englischzertifikat ist für die Bewerbung nicht zwingend erforderlich, aber Ihre Englischkenntnisse werden während des Auswahlgesprächs getestet. Das Medizinstudium in englischer Sprache ist für deutsche Abiturientinnen und Abiturienten in der Regel gut zu bewältigen. Zudem wird im ersten Studienjahr der Kurs Medizinische Terminologie unterrichtet, der die Studierenden mit der medizinischen Fachsprache auf Englisch vertraut macht.

Darüber hinaus findet in den ersten zwei Studienjahren ein Rumänisch-Sprachkurs für 90 Minuten pro Woche statt. Vorkenntnisse in der rumänischen Sprache sind nicht erforderlich. Dieser Sprachkurs muss aufgrund der Akkreditierungsvorgaben – wie an vielen anderen vergleichbaren internationalen medizinischen Fakultäten auch – angeboten werden, stellt erfahrungsgemäß aber keine Hürde für einen erfolgreiches Fortkommen im Studium dar, sondern ist eher als sprachliche Horizonterweiterung zu betrachten. Für den jeweils zweiwöchigen Unterricht in Neumarkt a. M. während der ersten drei Studienjahre sind die erworbenen Sprachkenntnisse keinesfalls erforderlich, weil dieser in englischer Sprache durchgeführt wird. Allerdings profitieren Sie von diesen für Ihre private Freizeitgestaltung vor Ort.

Um an der klinischen Ausbildung in Deutschland (Jahre 3 bis 6) teilzunehmen, müssen internationale Studierende bis zu Beginn des dritten Studienjahres in der deutschen Sprache ein Sprachniveau von etwa B2 vorweisen.

Nähere Informationen zum Studienaufbau finden Sie hier.

Welche Fächer werden auf dem Hauptcampus der Universität in Neumarkt a. M. (Rumänien) unterrichtet?

Die ersten drei Studienjahre beinhalten drei Module von jeweils zwei Wochen, die in Neumarkt a. M. absolviert werden. Hierbei handelt es sich um die folgenden Fächer:

1. Studienjahr: Anatomie 1 und 2 (Labor der Anatomieabteilung)
2. Studienjahr: Anatomie 3 (Labor der Anatomieabteilung) und Einführung in das medizinische Arbeiten (Simulationszentrum)
3. Studienjahr: Bakteriologie/Virologie/Parasitologie (Labor der Mikrobiologischen Abteilung) und Morphopathologie (Labor der Pathologischen Abteilung)

Kann man sich als Studierender das Krankenhaus aussuchen, in dem die Lehre am Krankenbett ab dem 3. Studienjahr absolviert wird?

Für die Lehre am Krankenbett ab dem 3. Studienjahr kooperiert die Universität mit einer Vielzahl von Partnerkrankenhäusern und -kliniken in ganz Deutschland. Natürlich werden bei der konkreten Zuweisung an ein Partnerkrankenhaus bzw. eine -klinik die persönlichen Präferenzen des jeweiligen Studierenden berücksichtigt. Eine diesbezügliche, verbindliche Abfrage erfolgt zu Beginn des 2. Studienjahres. Sollten sich mehr Studierende für ein bestimmtes Partnerkrankenhaus bzw. eine -klinik bewerben, als Plätze zur Verfügung stehen, werden diese strikt nach Leistung vergeben (Ranking gemäß dem Notendurchschnitt des zweiten Studienjahres, bei Gleichstand Losverfahren).

Ist ein Wechsel an den UMCH und von dem UMCH an eine andere Universität möglich?

Ja, ein Wechsel an den UMCH in das 2. Studienjahr ist für das akademische Jahr 2020/2021 möglich. Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass Sie zuvor an einer Universität studiert haben, die ihren Sitz in der EU hat. Gerne informieren wir Sie vorab über eine mögliche Anrechnung des bisher absolvierten Fächer und erlangten ECTS-Punkte. Bitte kontaktieren Sie das UMCH-Team, um zu erfahren, welche Informationen wir hierfür benötigen.

Auch ein Wechsel vom UMCH an eine andere Universität in Europa ist grundsätzlich möglich. Im Rahmen des sechsjährigen Studiums werden insgesamt 360 ECTS-Punkte erworben. Jedes akademische Studienjahr beinhaltet 60 ECTS-Punkte. Das am UMCH angewandte European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) gewährleistet die EU-weite und Bologna-konforme Vergleichbarkeit des Curriculums.

3. Akkreditierung und Anerkennung

Ist das Studium akkreditiert und staatlich anerkannt?

Die UMFST Neumarkt a. M. ist mit all ihren Studiengängen von der rumänischen Agentur für Qualitätssicherung im Hochschulwesen (ARACIS) akkreditiert. Sie ist durch das vom Sekretariat der Ständigen Konferenz der Kultusminister der Länder herausgegebene Infoportal zur Bewertung ausländischer Bildungsabschlüsse anabin mit dem höchsten Status H+ gekennzeichnet und damit in Deutschland als Hochschule anzusehen. Die Niederlassung in Hamburg ist zudem nach § 117a des Hamburgischen Hochschulgesetzes angezeigt. Sie ist Vollmitglied der Europäischen Vereinigung für Qualitätssicherung in der Hochschulbildung (ENQA). In 2013 und 2017 wurde die Universität vom Institutional Evaluation Programme (IEP) bewertet (durchgeführt von der European University Association (EUA)). Außerdem wurde die Norm für Qualitätsmanagement (ISO 9001: 2015) eingeführt, zertifiziert durch die TÜV AUSTRIA CERT GMBH.

Die Approbation des EU-Landes Rumänien wird aufgrund der EU-Berufsanerkennungsrichtlinie EU-weit, auch in Deutschland, automatisch anerkannt. Eine zusätzliche Prüfung in Deutschland ist nicht erforderlich. Der Abschluss eröffnet den Absolventinnen und Absolventen des UMCH somit den Weg, EU-weit als Ärztinnen und Ärzte zu praktizieren. Außerdem ist die UMFST Neumarkt a. M. im World Dictionary of Medical Schools gelistet. Damit wird den Studenten ermöglicht, auch das amerikanische Staatsexamen (USMLE – United States Medical Licensing Examination) abzulegen.

4. Studierendenstadt Hamburg

Wo kann ich als UMCH-Student in Hamburg wohnen?

In Kooperation mit Uninest Student Residences bietet der UMCH die Option, während der Studienzeit in Hamburg zu günstigen Konditionen in komplett möblierten Studierendenappartements im Stadtteil Wandsbek zu wohnen. Die Appartements befinden sich in der modern ausgestatteten Wohnanlage „Navale“, die insgesamt 328 Studios umfasst. Die UMCH-Studierenden können zwischen vier verschiedenen Zimmertypen wählen. Durch die direkt am Gebäudekomplex liegende S- und U-Bahn-Haltestelle Wandsbeker Chaussee sind sie außerdem optimal an das öffentliche Nahverkehrsnetz angebunden.

Ihre Vorteile:

  • Komplett eingerichtete Studios mit eigenem Badezimmer und eigener Küche (u. a. Bett mit Stauraum und Matratze, Kleiderschrank, Tisch mit Stühlen, Regal; Kochnische mit zwei Kochfeldern, Mikrowelle und Gefrier-/Kühlkombination)
  • Nebenkosten inklusive (Strom, Gas, Wasser, Highspeed-LAN-Verbindung und WiFi)
  • Gemeinschaftsräume mit Lernbereichen, Lounge, Bar und Kickertischen
  • Serviceteam, Paketannahme- und Hausmeisterservice

Sie haben Interesse an einem Platz in der Studierendenunterkunft „Navale“? Sprechen Sie unser Studienberatungsteam gerne persönlich darauf an oder kontaktieren Sie das Team von Uninest Student Residences direkt.

Uninest Hamburg-Wandsbek
Navale
Hammer Straße 10
22041 Hamburg
Deutschland
[email protected]
https://unineststudents.de
Tel.: +49 (0)69 – 95 90 86 22 2

Steckbrief

Humanmedizin studieren am UMCH:

Art des Studiums

Vollzeitstudium

Studienbeginn

Jährlich zum Wintersemester

Unterrichtssprache

Englisch/in deutschen
Lehrkrankenhäusern: Deutsch

Studiendauer

6 Jahre

ECTS-Punkte

360

Anerkennung

Die Approbation des EU-Landes Rumänien wird aufgrund der EU-Berufsanerkennungsrichtlinie EU-weit, auch in Deutschland, automatisch anerkannt.

Zulassungsverfahren

Schriftliche Bewerbung, standardisierte HMS-Aufnahmeprüfung: schriftlicher Test und persönliches Interview

Zulassungsbeschränkung

Das Zulassungsverfahren ist NC-frei.

Weitere Fragen?

Sie möchten noch mehr zum Studium am UMCH wissen? Unsere Studienberater helfen Ihnen gerne weiter.

HerrFrau

Bitte lesen Sie unsere Datenschutzhinweise.

Kontaktieren Sie uns.

Postanschrift

Universitätsmedizin Neumarkt
am Mieresch Campus Hamburg

 

Albert-Einstein-Ring 11-15

22761 Hamburg, Deutschland

Servicezeiten

Mo. – Fr.: 09:00 – 18:00