Students Log in Online Application Consultation Appointment

ReachHigher – Dr. Kocavs Zsolt gives lecture on “The Mechanism of COVID-19 Vaccines”

March 30, 2021

ReachHigher-Vortrag-mit-Dr.-Kovacs-Zsolt-am-UMCHAs part of UMCH’s signature event series ReachHigher, Dr. Kovacs Zsolt gave a lecture titled “Biochemical approaches of basic sciences – Understanding the mechanism of Covid-19 vaccines” on March 26, 2021.

In his lecture, Dr. Zsolt first provided the students present with a basic understanding of the fundamentals of molecular biology. To this end, the UMCH lecturer first gave a comprehensive introduction to topics such as the multiplication of genetic material. Appropriate basic knowledge in this area is important to understand how certain vaccines work. He then went into more detail about how viruses – particularly the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus – enter the human organism. Finally, he explained how novel mRNA vaccines work to combat just that. He also showed why these can be produced more quickly than conventional vaccines and why they have fewer side effects than, for example, those containing viable pathogens.

Thus, during what is already the 11th edition of ReachHigher, UMCH students were given the opportunity to learn more about and develop a better understanding of this exciting and highly relevant subject area.

Students Log in
Online-Bewerbung

ReachHigher – Dr. Kocavs Zsolt hält Vortrag zum Thema „Funktionsweise der COVID-19-Impfstoffe“

30. März 2021

ReachHigher-Vortrag-mit-Dr.-Kovacs-Zsolt-am-UMCHIm Rahmen der UMCH-eigenen Veranstaltungsreihe ReachHigher hielt Dr. Kovacs Zsolt am 26.03.2021 einen Vortrag mit dem Titel „Biochemische Ansätze der Grundlagenwissenschaften – Den Mechanismus von COVID-19-Impfstoffen verstehen“.

In seinem Vortrag vermittelte Dr. Zsolt den anwesenden Studierenden zunächst ein grundlegendes Verständnis der molekularbiologischen Grundlagen. Zu diesem Zweck gab der UMCH-Dozent vorab eine umfangreiche Einführung in Themen wie etwa die Vervielfältigung von Erbsubstanz. Ein entsprechendes Basiswissen in diesem Bereich ist wichtig, um zu verstehen, wie bestimmte Impfstoffe funktionieren. Anschließend ging er näher darauf ein, wie Viren – insbesondere das Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 – in den menschlichen Organismus gelangen. Schließlich erläuterte er, wie neuartige mRNA-Impfstoffe funktionieren, um eben jenes zu bekämpfen. Zudem zeigte er auf, warum diese schneller hergestellt werden können als herkömmliche Impfstoffe und weshalb sie weniger Nebenwirkungen haben als beispielsweise solche, die funktionale Keime enthalten.

Während der mittlerweile 11. ReachHigher-Ausgabe bekamen die UMCH-Studierenden somit die Möglichkeit, sich in diesem spannenden und hochrelevanten Themenbereich weiterzubilden und ein besseres Verständnis dafür zu entwickeln.