Students Log in
Online Application

ReachHigher – Volker Lankow (Medecins sans Frontieres) with a report on field work

October 21, 2020

On October 19, 2020, the first ReachHigher event of the new academic year took place. This time the speaker was Volker Lankow with a report on his work for Medecins Sans Frontieres (aka Doctors Without Borders). His lecture primarily dealt with the work of the humanitarian organization in high-risk contexts.

Volker Lankow supervised 17 of the 18 projects in which he participated for Medecins Sans Frontieres as project manager. In the UMCH lecture series, he reported primarily on his work in an Afghan hospital. As with other projects, one of the most important aspects in Afghanistan was to gain the trust of the local people. After all, in addition to the medical work of Medecins Sans Frontieres, when deployed in conflict regions, it is necessary, among other factors, to make contact with representatives of the authorities and local leaders in order to provide important educational work. At the hospital in Afghanistan, it was also necessary to ensure that under no circumstances could weapons be brought into the building. Even police officers and soldiers had to hand in their weapons to MSF security personnel before they were allowed to enter the hospital. Even though this was not an easy task in a country that has been plagued by crisis for decades, Lankow said, the team on site still managed to do it after great effort. As a result, a general feeling of security among the staff and patients of the institution was created, building a strong basis of trust.

As always, the UMCH students had the opportunity to ask questions after the lecture in this issue of ReachHigher. Among other questions, they discussed how much work experience one must have as a doctor in order to work for Medecins Sans Frontieres, as well as the payment model of the humanitarian organization.

Students Log in
Online-Bewerbung
  • Deutsch
  • Englisch

ReachHigher – Volker Lankow (Ärzte ohne Grenzen) berichtet von Vor-Ort-Einsatz

21. Oktober 2020

Am 19.10.2020 fand die erste ReachHigher-Veranstaltung des neuen akademischen Jahres statt. Diesmal war Volker Lankow mit einem Einsatzbericht zu seiner Tätigkeit für Ärzte ohne Grenzen zu Gast. In seinem Vortrag ging es primär um die Arbeit der Hilfsorganisation in risikoreichen Kontexten.

Volker Lankow betreute 17 der 18 Projekte, an denen er für Ärzte ohne Grenzen teilnahm, als Projektmanager. In der UMCH-Vortragsreihe berichtete er vor allem von seinem Einsatz in einem afghanischen Krankenhaus. Ähnlich wie bei anderen Projekten, war auch in Afghanistan einer der wichtigsten Aspekte, das Vertrauen der Einheimischen zu gewinnen. Denn neben der medizinischen Arbeit von Ärzte ohne Grenzen ist es bei einem Einsatz in Krisenregionen unter anderem auch nötig, mit Vertretern der Behörden und lokalen Führungspersönlichkeiten in Kontakt zu treten, um wichtige Aufklärungsarbeit zu leisten. In dem Krankenhaus in Afghanistan musste zudem dafür gesorgt werden, dass unter keinen Umständen Waffen in das Gebäude gelangen. So mussten selbst Polizisten und Soldaten ihre Waffen beim Sicherheitspersonal von Ärzte ohne Grenzen abgeben, bevor sie das Krankenhaus betreten durften. Auch wenn dies, so Lankow, in einem seit Jahrzehnten von Krisen geplagten Land kein leichtes Unterfangen sei, gelang es dem Team vor Ort nach großen Mühen dennoch. Dadurch konnte unter den Mitarbeitern und Patienten der Einrichtung ein allgemeines Gefühl von Sicherheit sowie eine starke Vertrauensbasis geschaffen werden.

Wie immer gab es für die UMCH-Studierenden auch bei dieser ReachHigher-Ausgabe im Anschluss an den Vortrag die Möglichkeit, Fragen zu stellen. Dabei ging es unter anderem darum, wie viel Arbeitserfahrung man als Ärztin oder Arzt haben muss, um für Ärzte ohne Grenzen zu arbeiten, sowie um das Bezahlungsmodell der Hilfsorganisation.