Students Log in Online Application Consultation Appointment

Junior Researcher Academy – Prof. Univ. Dr. Daniel David holds webinar on “Treatment of Psychosis from the Perspective of Cognitive Behavioral Therapy”

May 5, 2021

On April 28, 2021, a webinar entitled “Fundamentals of Psychoses from the perspective of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy” was held as part of the Junior Researcher Academy, led by Prof. Univ. Dr. Daniel David.

The professor of Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy and rector of the Babes-Bolyai University of Cluj first gave the students present an introduction to Cognitive Behavioral Therapy as such and to the so-called ABC model. This model is used to assess situations rationally, to question one’s own reactions and to develop a resilient way of dealing with them. It can be easily applied to psychosis patients. By working with different parts of the model, a negative event can be evaluated rationally and functionally instead of irrationally and dysfunctionally. According to Prof. David, Cognitive Behavioral Therapy can achieve great success in the treatment of psychosis as an adjunct to medication, although it should only be used as a sole treatment method in rare individual cases. Another approach that is being used in current research is a virtual reality-based form of therapy in which patients learn, for example, to contradict an avatar and thus find a better way of dealing with auditory hallucinations, such as non-real voices. David sees great potential in this new method to complement and improve the treatment of psychosis patients.

In the Q&A session that followed the lecture, Prof. David finally responded to the various questions posed by interested students in the chat. Among other things, he addressed the extent to which virtual reality-based therapy can be applied to visual hallucinations in addition to the treatment of auditory hallucinations.

Students Log in Online-Bewerbung Unverbindlicher Beratungstermin

Junior Researcher Academy – Prof. Univ. Dr. Daniel David hält Webinar zum Thema „Behandlung von Psychose aus der Sichtweise der Kognitiven Verhaltenstherapie“

05. Mai 2021

Am 28.04.2021 fand im Rahmen der Junior Researcher Academy unter der Leitung von Prof. Univ. Dr. Daniel David ein Webinar mit dem Titel „Fundamentals of Psychoses from the perspective of Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy” statt.

Der Professor für Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie sowie Rektor der Babes-Bolyai-Universität Cluj gab den anwesenden Studierenden zunächst eine Einführung in Kognitive Verhaltenstherapie als solche sowie in das sogenannte ABC-Modell. Dieses dient dazu, Situationen rational einzuschätzen, die eigenen Reaktionen zu hinterfragen und einen resilienten Umgang mit diesen zu entwickeln. Es kann problemlos auf Psychose-Patientinnen und -Patienten angewendet werden. Durch Ansetzen an verschiedenen Stellen des Modells kann erwirkt werden, dass das ein negatives Ereignis rational und funktional anstelle von irrational und dysfunktional gewertet wird. Laut Prof. David kann Kognitive Verhaltenstherapie bei der Behandlung von Psychosen als Ergänzung zu Medikation große Erfolge erzielen, auch wenn sie lediglich in seltenen Einzelfällen als alleinige Behandlungsmethode eingesetzt werden sollte. Eine weiterer Ansatz, der in der aktuellen Forschung Verwendung findet, ist eine Virtual Reality-gestützte Therapieform, in der Patientinnen und Patienten beispielsweise lernen, einem Avatar zu widersprechen und somit einen besseren Umgang mit auditiven Halluzinationen, wie nicht-realen Stimmen, zu finden. In dieser neuen Methode sieht David großes Potential, die Behandlung von Psychose-Patientinnen und -Patienten zu ergänzen und verbessern.

In der Frage-und-Antwort-Runde, die im Anschluss an den Vortrag stattfand, beantwortete Prof. David schließlich noch die verschiedenen Fragen, die von interessierten Studierenden im Chat gestellt wurden. Unter anderem ging er darauf ein, inwiefern Virtual Reality-gestützte Therapie neben der Behandlung von auditiven Halluzinationen auch auf visuelle angewendet werden kann.